Visit Rwanda

Rwanda is a landlocked country in Central Africa; also known as “the land of a thousand hills”.

Rwanda has five volcanoes, 23 lakes and numerous rivers, some forming the source of the River Nile.

The country lies 75 miles south of the Equator in the Tropic of Capricorn, 880miles “as the crow flies” west of the Indian Ocean and 1,250 miles east of the Atlantic Ocean – literally at the heart of Africa.

Rwanda is bordered by Uganda to the North,Tanzania to the East, Burundi to the South and the Democratic Republic of Congo to the West.

Rwanda is an ideal all-year round tourism and MICE destination based on:

Superlative infrastructure and telecommunications capabilities

Easy air access and a streamlined visa process

High levels of safety and little traffic congestion

An exceptionally clean country

An array of iconic tourism attractions in close proximity

Time Zone: Central African Time (CAT) – GMT +2 hours

Size: 26,338 square kilometers

Population: 11.46 million

Capital City: Kigali

Local Currency: Rwandan Franc

Foreign Currencies: All major currencies are accepted

Official Languages: Kinyarwanda, French, English and Kiswahili

President: H.E. Paul KAGAME

Telephone Country Code: +250

ICT: High speed 4G LTE wireless broadband

Climate: Temperate all year round (24 – 27 degrees Celsius)

Major Economic Sectors: Tourism, mining and agriculture